Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
Navigating the Concerns - Energy Use - Pt. 1
0:00
-17:20

Navigating the Concerns - Energy Use - Pt. 1

Don't Destroy the Planet. Pages 53 to 67 of "Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach."

This week we start exploring some of the concerns about creating Comic NFT, starting with the environmental impact of the technology.


Check Your Understanding

  • I understand that NFTs are currently extremely controversial in the comic book world.

    Don’t Destroy the Planet
  • I am not a supervillain, so it should be my goal to help preserve the planet, not destroy it.

  • I believe that the carbon footprint of my project should be as close to zero as possible.

  • I understand that there are several blockchains where I can host my comic NFTs.

  • I understand that, while there are a few blockchains purpose-built for NFTs, NFTs are generally only one use case of many on most. Attributing the entire energy use of a chain to NFTs is a worst-case upper limit.

  • I understand that, in terms of energy use, the blockchain is the most important variable to consider when compared to simply delivering a standard PDF via Dropbox or similar.

  • I understand that there are creative trade-offs in selecting the blockchain to host my project.

  • I understand that it is currently possible to create my comic NFT project on a low-power, carbon-neutral blockchain.


For sources, see the book, especially pages 62 to 64, and the attached spreadsheet.
Back Of The Napkin C02 Emissions V20230323
40.7KB ∙ XLSX file
Download
Download


Update

  • Since I wrote this chapter, comic NFTs on Hedera Hashgraph have become a thing, most notably with the “Ashfall” series.


I drop a new section of the book each Thursday. The entire book is available as a download to new free/paid/comp subscribers to Tech for Comics (look for the link in the welcome e-mail). For more details, see:

Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
Read more

Next week

Next week we continue the “Navigating the Concerns” section of the book, continuing our discussion of energy consumption and explicitly examining the Ethereum blockchain.

0 Comments
Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
If the title makes you curious, angry, or confused, I wrote this book for you. This is the podcast edition of the book, with each episode a reading from "Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach" by Greg Tjosvold. Brought to you by the "Tech for Comics" substack at https://tjosvold.substack.com .