Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
Why NFTs?
0:00
-10:27

Why NFTs?

Pages 2 to 6 of "Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach"

I’m using the podcast feature of Substack to serialize my book, Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach. If the title makes you curious, angry or confused, I wrote this book for you!

I tend to “read” while driving or cleaning the house. If that’s you too, I hope you find this audio version useful. My goal is to put out at least one new section as a podcast once a week. As the book was completed at the end of 2022, a lot has already changed, so I also plan to occasionally provide updates in the text accompanying each post. The industry is moving so fast!

Details on how to get your own copy of the entire book are available here:

Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
Read more

I threw out some Kickstarter numbers that were out-of-date almost as soon as I finished the book. For more recent near-real-time numbers have a look at this page. (Thanks to creator Charlie Stickney for pointing out this awesome resource.) The comics category has one of the highest success rates for any Kickstarter category but it doesn’t change my argument that making a living from comics is hard.


The spreadsheet I talk about is attached to the following post.

Tech for Comics
Reverse Engineering Comic Page Rates
I promised you spreadsheets. Let’s start with the one that is sure to make a few of you cringe. Let’s talk wages. The attached spreadsheet, Reverse Engineering Comic Page Rates, started as a thought experiment. If every member of a comic team… worked full-time…
Read more

In this episode, I mention DappRadar. Unlike the comic world, it is hard to obfuscate sales data about NFTs as each transaction is on a blockchain. DappRadar is one of the best sites for accessing collated data. Use https://dappradar.com/nft/marketplaces and adjust the view for daily and monthly totals. This is a very good data set but is in no way exhaustive. If you came to this episode thinking NFTs were dead, have a look at the latest data. I think you will be surprised.

0 Comments
Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
If the title makes you curious, angry, or confused, I wrote this book for you. This is the podcast edition of the book, with each episode a reading from "Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach" by Greg Tjosvold. Brought to you by the "Tech for Comics" substack at https://tjosvold.substack.com .