Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
Navigating the Concerns - Ownership & Persistence
0:00
-11:26

Navigating the Concerns - Ownership & Persistence

Pages 77 to 83 of "Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach."

Check Your Understanding

Acknowledge the Limits of Digital Ownership

☐ I understand that ownership of digital assets is a new and evolving social contract.

☐ I understand that reframing “proof of ownership” to “the right to transfer” digital content may be a more appropriate way to think of NFTs at this point in history.

Create a Durable Product

☐ I understand that simply storing NFT data on a regular server introduces security and durability issues.

☐ I will remind my NFT customers to back up their wallet “seed phrases” and save their passwords.

☐ I will educate my comic NFT fans about security issues and take action to make a safe environment on any platform they are invited to use (e.g. websites, Discord, Twitter feed). e.g. I will make it clear that I will never send an NFT-related link via a direct message.

☐ I understand that saying NFTs will last forever is disingenuous, and I will not use that phrase.

☐ I will think like a digital archivist and create as durable a comic NFT as the state-of-the-art allows.

Share

0 Comments
Tech for Comics
Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach
If the title makes you curious, angry, or confused, I wrote this book for you. This is the podcast edition of the book, with each episode a reading from "Comic NFTs - An Ethical Approach" by Greg Tjosvold. Brought to you by the "Tech for Comics" substack at https://tjosvold.substack.com .